May 18, 2021

The Republic of Cyprus Signed the UN Arms Trade Treaty

The Permanent Representative Ambassador Nicholas Emiliou signed today (3 June 2013) on behalf of the Republic of Cyprus, the UN Arms Trade Treaty which opened today for signature at UN headquarters. The Treaty was signed today by a total of 63 UN member states.

The first Arms Trade Treaty was adopted by the UN General Assembly on 2 April 2013 and was considered a landmark historic achievement and the culmination of many years of efforts. The Treaty which regulates international trade in conventional weapons, from small arms to battle tanks, combat aircraft and warships will foster peace and security by preventing the flow of arms to conflict zones and at the same time by preventing abusers and violators of international and humanitarian law from being supplied with arms.

The opening of the Treaty signing ceremony was attended and addressed by the UN Secretary General. Several Member States were represented at ministerial level while the key note speaker was the President of Liberia Ellen Johnson Sirleaf.

The Treaty will enter into force upon ratification by at least 50 States parties.