May 9, 2021

Contacts of the Minister of Foreign Affairs in New York, 23 September 2013

Kasoulides - EliassonThe Minister of Foreign Affairs, Mr Ioannis Kasoulides, participated today in the informal High Level Meeting of the Foreign Ministers of Francophonie held in the framework of the 68th General Assembly of the United Nations, in New York. The meeting, which was convened by the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Congo in his capacity as Chairman of the Ministerial Meeting of the Francophone countries, focused on crisis management and conflict in the area of Francophonie. Speaking during the meeting, the Minister of Foreign Affairs made ​​special reference to the situation in Mali, Egypt, Lebanon and Congo.

Following, Minister Kasoulides held a tête-à-tête meeting with the Deputy Secretary-General of the UN, Mr Jan Eliasson. The Minister, in view of the meeting of the President of the Republic with the UN Secretary-General, briefed Mr Eliasson on the positions of our side regarding the need for both negotiators to properly prepare the meeting of the two leaders, to negotiate a declaration document and to agree the methodology upon which the discussion will be held from here onwards, for a holistic approach rather than endless discussions on governance issues.

Mr Kasoulides explained that parallel efforts should be made to strengthen the negotiations with the following three key elements: a) the direct negotiation between the negotiator and Turkey, b) the promotion of the proposal on Famagusta and c) the upgrade of the EU representation at the talks.

Furthermore, Minister Kasoulides had a meeting yesterday morning with the American Jewish Committee during which he explained the new policy of Cyprus in the region. He also referred to the relations between Cyprus and Israel. Later in the afternoon, Mr Kasoulides met with the U.S. Deputy Assistant Secretary for Energy Diplomacy, Mr Amos Hochstein, with whom he discussed energy issues.

At noon, the Minister of Foreign Affairs attended the working luncheon hosted by the President of the Republic to the five Permanent Members of the Security Council.