May 23, 2024

New Prefixes for Telephone Numbers in Cyprus

This is to inform the public that CYTA (Cyprus Telecommunications Authority) has proceeded with the creation of a new National Numbering Plan (NNP) for telephone codes in Cyprus, so as to meet the needs that will arise from higher demand for telephone numbers and the introduction of new technologies. The zero (0) prefix will be abolished for all calls within Cyprus and 8-digit numbers will apply for all services.

The new list of telephone codes, that are in effect from the 1st of December, 2001 are as follows:

Stable Telephones Old Number New Number

Nicosia (02) 22

Famagusta (03) 3

Larnaca (04) 24

Limassol (05) 25

Paphos (06) 26

Mobile Telephones Old Number New Number


NMT 092 992

Paging 097 997

Soeasy 098 998

Other Services Old Number New Number

Voicemail 079 123

Freephone 080 800

Premium Rate 090 900

099 909

Access to Internet 099 16 099 016

Packet Switching Services 0931 (access code) 1461

0932 (access code) 1462

Universal Access 077 77

The existing telephone codes and the new numbers will operate concurrently from the 1st of November 2001 until 1st of June, 2002. From the 1st of June 2002 onwards all calls made using the old codes will be connected to a recorded message for a period of six months.